Faculty Overview

Frank Chan

mouse genomics, adaptation, gene regulation

Ana García-Sáez

mitochondrial dynamics, single molecule microscopy, apoptosis

Daniel Huson

phylogenetics, metagenomics, algorithms

Ralf-Peter Jansen

translation, mRNA localization, RNA-binding proteins


Felicity Jones

evolutionary genomics, recombination & speciation genetics

Oliver Kohlbacher

computational biology, proteomics, metabolomics, structural biology

Ruth Ley

microbiome, host-microbial interactions, microbial ecology

Andrei Lupas

bioinformatics, molecular evolution, protein structure

Boris Macek

mass spectrometry, proteomics, genomics

Patrick Müller

zebrafish development, biophysics, systems biology

Alfred Nordheim

mouse genetic models, SRF signalling

Tassula Proikas-Cezanne

autophagy, human WIPI proteins

Doron Rapaport

mitochondrial biogenesis, protein integration in membranes

Erik Schäffer

molecular motors and machines, optical tweezers, biophysics

Ralf Sommer

epigenetics and chromatin remodeling, developmental plasticity, evolutionary novelty

 Thilo Stehle

virus structure, host-pathogen interactions, inhibitor design

Estienne Swart

genome editing, alternative genetic codes, ciliate genomics

Marja Timmermans

miRNA mobility, pattern formation, developmental genetics

Detlef Weigel

genetic variation, speciation, miRNAs, plants, genomics

John Weir

meiosis, genome stability, protein biochemistry


Former Faculty

Faculty associated with our IMPRS but not recruiting students through the program are listed here

Professor Elisa Izaurralde, formerly Scientific Director of the Department of Biochemistry at the MPI for Developmental Biology and speaker of the IMPRS, passed away on 30 April 2018. We mourn the loss of our colleague and mentor.